Skip to main content
Cookie notification

This website uses cookies, utilised by us and third parties to enhance your experience. Learn more via our Privacy page.

New appointments to the Classification Board

On 31 March 2022, the Governor-General, the Hon David Hurley AC DSC (retd) appointed Mr Tristan Sharp as Deputy Director, Mr Iain Humphrey as full-time Member, Ms Jennifer Marvello and Mr Paul Tenison as part-time Members to the Classification Board.  

Mr Sharp will commence as Deputy Director on 2 May 2022 for a three year term. He is currently the Director of the consultancy firm Kingfisher & Co and is a member of the Create NSW Museums and History Artform Board. He has a background in the visual arts and finance sectors, with qualifications in arts administration and education.

Mr Humphrey, Ms Marvello and Mr Tenison have a good understanding of the role and operation of the Board and of the National Classification Scheme through their work as temporary members since January 2020.

Mr Humphrey will commence as a full-time Member on 4 April 2022 for a three year term. He holds a Bachelor in Arts (French) and has previously worked at Red Bee Media, an organisation that generates access to media for deaf and blind communities. 

Ms Marvello and Mr Tenison will commence as part-time Members on 4 April 2022 for two years. Ms Marvello holds a Certificate IV Training & Assessment and Certificate IV Government Administration and has previously trained Customs Officers including identification of prohibited imports and exports. 

Mr Tenison is retired and has previously worked with the Classification Branch at the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications in training of industry assessors and financial and policy management of the Classification Scheme. 

The Governor-General also reappointed Ms Ellenor Nixon and Mr Thomas Mann as full-time Members until 31 May 2023. Ms Nixon and Mr Mann have been members of the Board since June 2016 and have played an integral role on the Board, including during a period of transition and adjustment through the COVID-19 pandemic and new modes of operating. Ms Nixon is currently acting as Deputy Director and will recommence in her role as full-time Member on 2 May 2022, with the commencement of a new Deputy Director.