Skip to main content
Cookie notification

This website uses cookies, utilised by us and third parties to enhance your experience. Learn more via our Privacy page.


Classification (Publications, Films and Computer Games) Act 1995

The Classification (Publications, Films and Computer Games) Act 1995 (Cth) (the Act) legislates the classification of publications, films and computer games in Australia.

The Act covers:

Instruments under the Act

Instruments support the Act. They cover fees, rules and procedures.

The instruments are:

National Classification Scheme

The National Classification Scheme (the Scheme) is an agreement between the Australian, state and territory governments. The Intergovernmental Agreement on Censorship created the Scheme.

The Commonwealth Minister for Communications, and the state and territory Ministers responsible for classification oversee the Scheme.

The Scheme defines the roles of the Commonwealth, states and territories in deciding ratings and enforcement.

The Commonwealth, state, and territory Ministers responsible for classification agree to instruments that the Classification Board and Classification Review Board must apply when making decisions under the Scheme:

Related legislation

States and territories

States and territories enforce the Scheme using their own laws. These laws cover the sale, exhibition and advertising of classifiable content.

You can learn more about these laws at the links below.

Broadcasting services

The Broadcasting Services Act 1992 (Cth) regulates television and radio content in Australia.

The Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) is responsible for broadcasting services. This includes rules for what you see or hear on TV or radio.

Online safety

The Online Safety Act 2021 (Cth) regulates online content in Australia.

The Office of the eSafety Commissioner is responsible for online safety. This includes dealing with harm caused by online and image-based abuse, and illegal and adult content.

Related links

We aim to provide documents in an accessible format. Please contact us if you are experiencing issues accessing our content.